Gone upstairs

a personal journey through grief and change

Advance warning

3 Comments

2 years ago tonight I was staying with my father and step-mother in Totnes, whiling away a dark Friday evening, watching TV or reading, with no idea at all of the life-changing events about to unfold. It had been my Dad’s 86th birthday the day before – I’d gone down to see him for the occasion. Now I was looking forward to getting home because Becca was coming up from Brighton for the weekend to see the flat we’d been renting in Leicester – particularly so that she could understand why we had decided to buy the house from our landlady!  It was a rather crazy decision as it would be our 4th property…  But we knew it was too good an opportunity to miss.  It was only later on we discovered quite how good.

I also needed to get back to check on Sam, who had been a bit off-colour for a while with what he described as a ‘bug’. I’d called the doctor in to see him while I was away, but apparently she had said to rest – and think about getting another brain scan. He hadn’t had one for about 3 years: he didn’t want one. As far as he was concerned the tumour was old news, dealt with, history. No this was just ‘a bug’ – maybe somethng wrong with his drainage shunt which relieved the pressure of fluid in his head – and he was waiting to get better. Meanwhile I knew he wasn’t eating much – a great bone of contention between us! – and was most probably lying around on the sofa in his dressing gown, maybe on-line,watching films or playing games. His friends would visit bringing weed for them to smoke as well.

There was not much I could do about any of this as we had installed him in his own house and couldn’t often get past the threshold! He’d been given a terminal diagnosis nearly 5 years before and was convinced he had beaten all the odds: he had a will of steel and was utterly determined to shape his own destiny. So… parents are fairly redundant in most 27 year old young men’s lives! I had gone to Devon and Martin had also gone away – to Nice for a work meeting. We had been getting on with our lives as much as possible and we assumed our son was OK because that’s what he wanted us to think. He was in charge. If he needed anything he could ring or call in the lodgers from our house round the corner.

image-1I had however, bought him a large fluffy toucan puppet from Totnes market to wear on his arm! He may have been 27 but he’d had a love affair with squeaky glove puppets since he was very little…This one made an appropriate rude noise when you pressed it and Iimg_2794 couldn’t resist buying it for the lad – both for old times sake and also because his father has a tattoo of a toucan on his derriere 😉 Little did I know that it would accompany Sam into and out of hospital and be on his bed at home when he died less than 2 weeks later.

So – no advance warning then, as I sat cocooned in the cosy lounge in Devon. Or maybe we’d already had the warning years before but it’s siren had dulled with time and all the camouflaging techniques Sam employed. The truth was we’d lived with anxiety for so long we were like elastic that has lost it’s stretch, so we coped the best we could and dulled it as necessary. Even his little ‘illness’ hadn’t really rung any alarm bells… he’d had episodes like this before. So no, there was no advance warning of what was about to start in 12 hours time.

Now I am giving you advance warning. 2 years on I am going to revisit those 10-11 days and write about what happened. I have told much of Sam’s story over the years, but even in the post I wrote about his death and burial one month later I didn’t go into detail in the way I intend to now.

Why? Why now? Well – I think I need to… I think it will help me go deeper in my grieving than I have been able to go this far. Painful it may be, but I must make room for the buried pain to come out if my heart is ever to be healed. Perhaps this therapy can help me and even some others.

Also as a tribute to Sam. We have never been able to face putting together a celebration of his life – not yet anyway. We had a small informal gathering for some friends and family when he was buried and promised more later – but it has not happened: I can’t face it. Perhaps I can use this time, now the initial 2 year phase of acute grief has been experienced, to pay my respects to a brave man, to remember his humour, his strength and the loving things he said in his last days.

Anyway, that’s the plan – a post every day remembering our roller-coaster journey of 2 years ago. Buckle up!

Author: Sally Ann

True-story teller - words and pictures

3 thoughts on “Advance warning

  1. Love you Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul and I are ready to walk this fortnight with you. We welcome the posts that you are about to write.

    Found myself meditating on ‘the Lord watches over you’ from Psalm 121 yesterday. I was aware of you and Martin being in the sphere of his ‘watching over’.

    Lots of love Victoria Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are amazing Sally Ann, thank you for sharing your journey. Blessings Heather xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

